Last updated on October 19, 2021
Throughout the duration of your course, you may have one or more students formally withdraw. To comply with federal regulations, records of a student’s participation must be maintained, so these students will still appear in the People page of the course but will be marked as “Inactive.” This change will happen automatically when the Registrar receives notice from the student that they have withdrawn.
As an instructor, you are not able to permanently remove the student from the course. However, an inactive student does not have access to the course. While their name is still visible in People, they will not appear in Gradebook, and it should not impact your instruction or grading.
Hopefully, this helps you understand the relationship between a withdrawal and Canvas course management. If you have anymore questions related to this or other teaching and learning topics, please reach out to us through one of the options on our Immediate Support page.