Last updated on October 19, 2021
Modules are a fundamental building block and the main organizational unit of a Canvas course. They enable an instructor to organize the course content by week or by topic, for example, and to build each new concept on what a student has previously learned. This organization makes the course easier for a student to navigate.
Canvas modules organize the various content or assessments throughout the course, but the original source material is actually not saved in the module. While you can access the source materials from modules, they are actually stored in Pages, Files, Assignments, Quizzes, and Discussions from the course navigation menu on the left, respectively. Therefore, you are linking to the source material from within the module.
When you delete content from a module, you are deleting the link for the student, but the source material still exists in the course navigation menu on the left. This means assessments will still appear in the gradebook because the original assignment or quiz still exists. To remove these from the Gradebook, you would need to remove both the module link as well as the original source material.